BotM Picks – August 2016

Here are the groups picks for Sci-Fi and Fantasy for August 2016 – Age of Myth by Michael J Sullivan and The Three-Body Problem by Cixin Liu.

Sci-Fi

The Three-Body Problem by Cixin Liu

First Published: 2014
Pages: 416 (paperback)

1967: Ye Wenjie witnesses Red Guards beat her father to death during China’s Cultural Revolution. This singular event will shape not only the rest of her life but also the future of mankind.

Four decades later, Beijing police ask nanotech engineer Wang Miao to infiltrate a secretive cabal of scientists after a spate of inexplicable suicides. Wang’s investigation will lead him to a mysterious online game and immerse him in a virtual world ruled by the intractable and unpredicatable interaction of its three suns.

This is the Three-Body Problem and it is the key to everything: the key to the scientists’ deaths, the key to a conspiracy that spans light-years and the key to the extinction-level threat humanity now faces.

Fantasy

Age of Myth (The Legends of the First Empire #1) by Michael J. Sullivan

First Published: 2016
Pages: 432 (hardcover)

What does it mean if the gods can be killed? The first novel in an epic new fantasy series for readers of Brent Weeks, Brandon Sanderson, Peter V. Brett, and Scott Lynch.

Age of Myth, inaugurates an original five-book series, and one of fantasy’s finest next-generation storytellers continues to break new ground.

Since time immemorial, humans have worshipped the gods they call Fhrey, truly a race apart: invincible in battle, masters of magic, and seemingly immortal. But when a god falls to a human blade, the balance of power between men and those they thought were gods changes forever. Now, only a few stand between humankind and annihilation: Raithe, reluctant to embrace his destiny as the God Killer, Suri, a young seer burdened by signs of impending doom, and Persephone, who must overcome personal tragedy to lead her people. The Age of Myth is over; the time of rebellion has begun. (From GoodReads)

Michael J. Sullivan is hosting a Q&A/Ask the Author for this book over on our group on GoodReads – feel free to get involved.

We hope you’ll read along with us in one/both of these during August, we look forward to the discussions over on GoodReads!

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “BotM Picks – August 2016

  1. Pingback: July BotM Review Roundup! – Dragons & Jetpacks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s